A Quick Review on Nike+ SportsWatch GPS

I have been using this watch for slightly longer than 2 years, and recorded 340 KM with it so far. Have to say I started to get active again in running only recently due to my back problem. I am not interested in running too often and long than necessary but hopefully I can keep 30 to 40 KM per month.

IMG_0017 IMG_0018

Here comes my quick review.

The Pros:

  • The total package. I paid for the watch (from US Amazon by the way), I got the watch, free Nike+ Connect (Computer Client), free Nike+ Running (Mobile APP) and free online portable. One thing I like about Nike+ is their UI design: sleek, simple but offer adequate functions for joggers like me who only want basic running features.
  • Small form factor, as compared to other GPS watch makers.
  • Basic functions, and easy control with only 3 buttons. I have no problem access any of the features during run.
  • It supports built in GPS (of course), Nike+ shoe pod for added accuracy and third party heart rate sensors. All can be easily disabled in the run menu.
  • And the most important plus point, I don’t need to carry a bulky smart phone during the run.
  • Looks good.
  • I like the trophy system. It motivates me a bit.

Screenshot 2014-10-28 12.17.23

The Cons:

  • Connecting to GPS can be really a pain sometimes, or to be more specific, somewhere. Near my block where I usually do my warm-up, it fails to connect to GPS 80% of time. But at the first junction 150 meters away from my block I can always get it within 30 seconds.
  • Uploading my run through Nike+ Connect (Mac Version) to online portal fails 50% of them time on the first attempts. This is undoubtedly a bug Nike needs to fix.
  • Sometimes its battery drains completely overnight as if ending the run doesn’t turn off some functions, such as GPS tracking, on the watch. Google it and I found that I am not the only one having this issue.
  • It’s not perfectly comfortable on the waist.
  • After starting a run (accidentally), you can’t delete it from neither the watch nor portal, it stays with you forever.
  • Tabbing the Nike+ logo on the watch doesn’t always backlit the display the way it suppose to.

One final words. “Do I regret buying it? No.”

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

